Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Visit South Cumbria

South Cumbria offers the perfect UK staycation destination. The gateway to the Lake District National Park, staying in this region will give you easy access to a wide range of towns, each with its own set of activities and things to do.

Hire a boat on Lake Windermere and sail across the water, keeping an eye out for steamboats, while taking in the panoramic views. Or for the more adventurous, there is always windsurfing!

Train enthusiasts can indulge their passion by hopping onboard The Lakeside & Haverthwaite Railway. A unique family day out, you’ll be taken on a journey through the countryside, before continuing your adventure abroad a Windermere Steamer to Bowness or Ambleside. You can even take your dog!

Ambleside, popular with walkers and climbers offers restaurants, bars, coffee shops and even a cinema. Stock Ghyll Force is only a short walk away, providing incredible views of the 70ft waterfall.

So, explore South Cumbria and book a UK staycation with Herdwick Cottages today.

Things to do in South Cumbria

While staying in South Cumbria make sure to spend some time at Levens Hall in Kendal, Sizergh Castle, and Dalemain Mansion. Or for fans of Peter Rabbit, The World of Beatrix Potter is an unmissable attraction in Windermere to visit!

After this, take it easy as you sail across Coniston Water, a marvellous way to end your day! Or for a more exhilarating day out in South Cumbria, take a short ferry ride from Waterhead, and find Brockhole, the Lake District National Park Visitor Centre. Here you can hire bikes, boats, book laser clay shooting, try your hand at archery or even go on a tree-top adventure.

Ambleside and Lake Windermere also offer outdoor adventure activities such as abseiling, climbing and bushcraft. After a long day of activities, head to Kendal to sample the world-famous Kendal Mint Cake. The charming cobbled streets of Kendal used to feature leather and cloth workshops, but are now home to cosy tearooms, restaurants and souvenir shops.

Ready for a South Cumbria adventure? Book a holiday cottage with Herdwick Cottages now.

Other Regions: West Cumbria | East Cumbria | North Cumbria

Stacked photos

Join our flock

Let your property with us